Skip to Main Content

With around 2000 members across the country and from abroad, the Canadian Economics Association (CEA) is the organization of academic economists in Canada.  The Association has for its object the advancement of economic knowledge through the encouragement of study and research, the issuing of publications, and the furtherance of free and informed discussion of economic questions. The Association as such will not assume a partisan position upon any question of practical politics nor commit its members to any position thereupon.

The CEA publishes the foremost economics journal in Canada, the Canadian Journal of Economics (CJE), and organizes an Annual Conference. The journal Canadian Public Policy / Analyse de politiques (CPP/Adp) is affiliated with the CEA. CEA members receive online access to issues of CJE and CPP/Adp.


Member Access to the Canadian Journal of Economics   Member Access to Canadian Public Policy


2024 CEA Fellows:

The title of Fellow of the Canadian Economics Association is conferred to recognize the achievements and contribution to the discipline of the most prominent economists who have spent a significant portion of their career in Canada.   The CEA inducted three new Fellows in 2024:
Brian Copeland (UBC), M. Scott Taylor (UofC), Victoria Zinde-Walsh (McGill)

Congratulations to the 2024 Award Winners:

The Canadian Economics Association is pleased to share the following award winners that were announced at the 58th Annual Meetings of the CEA in Toronto, Ontario

Doug Purvis Memorial Prize:

The Doug Purvis Memorial Prize went to: Michael Baker, Derek Messacar, and Mark Stabile for  “Effects of Child Tax Benefits on Poverty and Labor Supply: Evidence from the Canada Child Benefit and Universal Child Care Benefit”, published in the Journal of Labor Economics (Volume 41, Number 3, October 2023).

Thank you to the Purvis Prize Committee members, Audra Bowlus, Brett House, Joseph Macaluso, Tammy Schirle (chair) & Pierre Siklos

Canadian Journal of Economics Awards:

The Harry Johnson Prize for best paper in the CJE was awarded to two papers this year:

(1) “Imported carbon emissions: Evidence from French manufacturing companies” by Damien Dussaux, Francesco Vona, and Antoine Dechezleprêtre, published in the May 2023 issue, and

(2) “Who wins and who loses from state subsidies?” by Jun Du, Sourafel Girma, Holger Görg, and Ignat Stepanok, published in the August 2023 issue.

The Robert Mundell Prize for best paper by a young researcher was awarded to “Horizon effects and adverse selection in health insurance markets” by Olivier Darmouni and Dan Zeltzer, published in the May 2022 issue.

Canadian Public Policy Award - John Vanderkamp Award:

Canada Public Policy presented the Vanderkamp prize to Jennifer WInter, Brett Dolter, G. Kent Fellows for "Carbon Pricing Costs for Households and the Progressivity of Revenue Recycling Options in Canada"

John Rae Prize:

The John Rae Prize for the Canadian economist with the best research record during the last five years was presented to:

Robert Clark (Queen's University)

Thank you to Prize Committee Members: Siwan Anderson (Chair), Lynda Khalaf, Fabian Lange, Arthur Robson and Stephen Williamson

Bank of Canada – CEA Undergraduate Research Poster Awards:

Award for Best Paper went to Jane Platt (UBC) “Parental involvement laws: the impacts of abortion restrictions on teen maternal health in the US”

The Award for the Best Poster went to Anna Chernesky (UBC) “Migration and the classroom: the effects of immigration on the test scores and school experience of native students in Europe

Graduate Student Posters:

Régis Kouassi from Université de Montréal  "Water-Proofed: Floods And Water Infrastructure Quality In The United States"


CEA members receive online access to the CJE. Please use the following link to authenticate your CEA membership and view online:

CEA Member Access to the CJE







CEA members receive online access to CPP/Adp at University of Toronto Press. Please use the following link to authenticate your CEA membership and view online:

CEA Member Access to CPP/Adp





Here's what's coming up for your association

Canadian Economics Diversity Committee:

Learn more about the creation and activities of the CEDC on the new CEDC webpage

Awards to Canadian Economists:

The Bank of Canada is pleased to announce that Professor Michelle Alexopoulos, from the University of Toronto, Professor Krishna Pendakur, from Simon Fraser University, and Professor Diego Restuccia, from the University of Toronto, are the recipients of the Bank’s 2024 Fellowship Award. The Bank is also pleased to present this year’s Governor’s Award to Professor Markus Baldauf, from the University of British Columbia. For more information on the Fellowship Program, please visit our web page.

La Banque du Canada a le plaisir d’annoncer que Professeure Michelle Alexopoulos, de l’Université de Toronto, Professeur Krishna Pendakur, de l’Université Simon Fraser, et Professeur Diego Restuccia, de l’Université de Toronto, sont les lauréats de la Bourse de recherche de la Banque du Canada pour 2024. La Banque est également fière de remettre la Bourse du gouverneur de cette année à Professeur Markus Baldauf, de l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements au sujet du Programme, veuillez consulter la page sur le site web

We use Question Pro's Survey software to collect the student and faculty data that is analyzed in the 2022 CWEC/CFÉC Survey Report on the Representation of Women Economists in Canada’s Universities.