Skip to Main Content


Canadian Women Economists Committee (CWEC)

The Canadian Women Economists Committee/Comité des Femmes Économistes Canadiennes was created in 2017 as a standing committee of the Canadian Economic Association charged with supporting and promoting the advancement of women in the Canadian economics profession.

It follows directly from the Canadian Women Economist Network (CWEN) which was founded in 1990 as an independent association of persons interested in promoting women economists and their ideas. The change from CWEN to CWEC recognizes that this responsibility of supporting and promoting women does not just fall on the female membership, but on the profession as a whole. Over the past three decades, CWEC/CWEN has been instrumental in promoting women’s involvement with and within the wider Canadian economics community.

Visit the CWEC web site

Canadian Economics Diversity Committee (CEDC)

Following the recommendations from the Diversity Summit held in the spring of 2022, the CEA Board of Directors voted at the September 2022 board meeting to create the Canadian Economics Diversity Committee (CEDC).  The CEDC is an oversight committee that will help direct the efforts on diversity and inclusion in the Economics profession.  Sub-working groups of the CEDC include the Mentorship Committee, the Best Practices Committee, and the Affinity Group Meta-Committee. The inaugural chairs of the Diversity Committee are Professor David Green (University of British Columbia) and Professor Ismael Mourifie (University of Toronto).

Committee Members include: Michelle Alexopoulos (co-chair of the Mentorship Committee); Janice Compton (as co-chair of the Mentorship Committee and representative of CWEC); Ke Pang, Byron Lew and Inbal Marcovitch (as co-chairs of the Best Practices committee); Prosper Donovon, Rob Gillezeau and Viet Vu (as co-chairs of the Affinity Meta-committee); Nick Dadson and Sermin Gungor (as co-chairs of the Data Committee); and Ana Ferrer (as chair of the Code of Conduct committee).

Nominating Committee

Committee Members: Michelle Alexopoulos (chair), Ana Ferrer, John Galbraith, Elisabeth Gugl, Byron Lew, Barry Watson.

The Nominating Committee consists of the President, Vice-President, and Secretary as ex officio members, and three Directors appointed by the Board as members at large for a term not exceeding two years. All committee members have the right to vote on matters before the committee. None of the appointed members of the Nominating Committee shall be from the same institution or organization as another member of the Nominating Committee at the time of their appointment. The President chairs the Committee.

Budget and Finance Committee

Committee Members: Michelle Alexopolous (chair), Zhiqi Chen, John Galbraith, Brandon Schaufele (Treasurer), Henry Siu 

The Finance and Budget Committee is responsible for (i) preparing an annual budget for approval by the Board of Directors; (ii) advising the Board on the financial impact of proposed new initiatives or activities; (iii) preparing and updating a long-term financial plan; and (iv) recommending an auditor. The Finance and Budget Committee is composed of the President, who chairs the committee, the Treasurer, and such other members as the Board appoints.

Investment Committee

Committee Members: Brandon Schaufele (chair), Werner Antweiler, Ana Ferrer, James MacKinnon, Randall Morck.

The Investment Committee is responsible for (i) advising the Board on the Association’s investment policy, and (ii) advising the Board on managing its investment portfolio. The Investment Committee is composed of the Treasurer, who shall chair the committee, and between two and four other members appointed by the Board.

The CEA has adopted an Investment Policy in 2016.


Future Meetings Committee

Committee Members: Ana Ferrer (chair), Claustre Bajona, Brandon Schaufele 

The Future Meetings Committee is tasked with securing and preparing venues for the next four years for the Annual Meeting and Conference of its Members. 

Committee for the Code of Conduct

Committee Members: Ana Ferrer (chair), Michelle Alexopoulos, Janice Compton, Donn Feir

The Committee for the Code of Conduct was created following the adoption of the CEA Code of Conduct to address any complaints that may arise. The secretary serves as the chair of the committee.

Economics Profession Data Committee

Following the recommendations from the Diversity Summit held in the spring of 2022, the CEA Board of Directors voted at the September 2022 board meeting to create the Economics Profession Data Committee (EPDC).  The Initial co-chairs are Nick Dadson (Analysis Group) and Sermin Gungor (Bank of Canada).

Data on Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion (EDI) in the Canadian economics profession is required to evaluate the climate in the profession, promote research in the EDI field, and inform policy making. Currently, EDI data in Canada is sparse at best. The EPDC aims to fill this gap by exploring and compiling available data and leading the initiatives for new data collection. The goal of the EPDC is to initiate and maintain systematic collection of comprehensive EDI data on the Economics profession in Canada