Skip to Main Content

Conference Session Recordings

View: 2023 State of the Art Recordings here

View: CEA 2022 Recordings here

View: CEA 2021 Recordings here


CEA 2023 Lectures 

Presidential Address: David Green (UBC)

Basic Income and The Labour Market: Labour Supply, Precarious Work, & Technological Change

Presented at the 57th Annual Meetings of the Canadian Economics Association in Winnipeg



CWEC Lecture: Nicole Fortin (UBC)

Gender Differences in Career Progress among Ph.D.s in Economics

Introduction of Nicole Fortin as a New CEA Fellow (David Green, CEA President).
Speaker: Nicole Fortin (University of British Columba)


State of the Art Lectures

Daron Acemoglu (MIT)

Directed Technology: Bias, Distortions and the Future of Work


Avi Goldfarb (Rotman School of Management) 
The Economics of Artificial Intelligence



Stephanie Schmitt-Grohé (Columbia University)

What Do Long Data Tell Us About r* and π*?


Janet Currie (Princeton)

Child Health as Human Capital


CEA 2022 : Lectures

2022 Innis Lecture: Siwan Anderson

Chair (and organizer): David Green (University of British Columbia); Francisco Ruge-Murcia (McGill University)
Speaker: Siwan Anderson (University of British Columbia) Unbundling Female Autonomy


2022 Presidential Address: Francisco Ruge-Murcia

Chair: Michelle Alexopoulos (University of Toronto)
Organizer: David Green (University of British Columbia)
Speaker: Francisco Ruge-Murcia (McGill University) How do Central Banks Make Decisions?

2022 State of the Art Lecture: Martha Bailey

Chair: David Jacks (Simon Fraser University)
Organizer: David Green (University of British Columbia)
Speaker: Martha Bailey (UCLA) The Role of the 1963 Equal Pay Act in Shaping the US Gender Gap

2022 State of the Art Lecture: Victor Chernozhukov

Chair: Vadim Marmer (University of British Columbia)
Organizer: David Green (University of British Columbia)
Speaker: Victor Chernozhukov (MIT) Long Story Short: Omitted Variable Bias in Causal Machine Learning

2022 State of the Art Lecture: Rachel K. Kranton

Chair: Karen Ye (Queen’s University)
Organizer: David Green (University of British Columbia)
Speaker: Rachel K. Kranton (Duke University) Identity and Inequality


2022 State of the Art Lecture: Fabian Lange

Chair: Marie Connolly (Université du Québec à Montréal)
Organizer: David Green (University of British Columbia)
Speaker: Fabian Lange (McGill University) Employer Learning and the Social and Private Returns to Education

2022 State of the Art Lecture: Suresh Naidu

Chair: Abel Brodeur (University of Ottawa)
Organizer: David Green (University of British Columbia)
Speaker: Suresh Naidu (Columbia University) The Labor Market as a Political Institution


Inclusion Breakfast: Social Attitudes Towards LGBTQ+ Identities

Chairs: Heather Bone (University of Toronto) and Viet Vu (Toronto Metropolitan University)
Organizers: Viet Vu (Toronto Metropolitan University), Heather Bone (University of Toronto), and Anthony Landry (Bank of Canada)

Speaker: Christopher (Kitt) Carpenter (Vanderbilt University) Understanding Discrimination Against LGBT People in the US: Evidence from a Double List Experiment and a Survey

Bank of Canada Fellowship Lecture 2022: Michelle Alexopoulos

Chair: James MacGee (Bank of Canada) and Paul Beaudry (Bank of Canada)
Organizer: Bank of Canada
Speaker: Michelle Alexopoulos (University of Toronto) It’s Not Just What They Say, but How They Say It! Exploring the Impact of Fed Testimonies on Markets

Canadian Public Policy Special Lecture 2022: Lindsay Tedds

Chair: Tammy Schirle (Wilfrid Laurier University)
Organizer: Michael Veall (McMaster University)
Speaker: Lindsay Tedds (University of Calgary) Igniting an Intersectional Shift in Public Policy Research


CLEF Keynote Lecture 2022: Francine Blau

Chair and organizer: Ana Ferrer (University of Waterloo)
Speaker: Francine Blau (Cornell University) Labor Force Selection and the Gender Wage Gap

Environment and Climate Change Canada Special Lecture 2022: Joseph E. Aldy

Chair: Derek Hermanutz (Environment and Climate Change Canada)
Organizers: Madanmohan Ghosh (Environment and Climate Change Canada) and Nick Macaluso (Environment and Climate Change Canada)
Speaker: Joseph E. Aldy (Harvard Kennedy School) Implementing a Whole of Government Approach to Climate Change


CEA2021 Session Recordings

CEA Presidential Address & Award Announcements: 

Chair: Francisco Ruge-Murcia (McGill University)
Announcement of the new CEA Fellows: Nicole Fortin (University of British Columbia)

Announcement of the Harry G. Johnson Prize and the Robert Mundell Prize: Katherine Cuff (McMaster University)
Announcement of the Bank of Canada Undergraduate Research Poster Awards: Lawrence Schembri (Bank of Canada)
Speaker: M. Scott Taylor (University of Calgary) The Orca Conjecture (lecture begins at 19:37)

CPP Award Announcements at the Start of Innis Lecture

Chair: Fabian Lange (McGill University)
Announcement of Award Winners: 
Mike Veall (McMaster University)
    Canadian Public Policy Referee of the year
    John Vanderkamp Prize
    Mike McCracken Award for Economic Statistics
(CPP/CEA joint award)

Note: unfortunately, the lecture portion of this session is not available; the 2021 Innis Lecture Speaker was Lance Lochner (Western University)


CWEC Lecture & Award Announcements: 

Chair: Elizabeth Dhuey (University of Toronto)
Annoucement of the CWEC Young Researcher Award, presented by Janice Compton (University of Manitoba)
Annoucement of the Sylvia Ostry Award, presented by Elizabeth Dhuey (University of Toronto)
Introduction to Emi Nakamura, Marie Connolly (Université du Québec à Montréal)
Speaker: Emi Nakamura (University of California at Berkeley) Is the Phillips Curve Getting Flatter?


Panel on Diversity and Inclusion in the Economics Profession

Chair: Thomas Lemieux (University of British Columbia)
Elizabeth Dhuey (University of Toronto, CWEC)
Césaire Meh (Bank of Canada)

Diego Restuccia (University of Toronto)

Erin Strumpf (McGill University)


Purvis Lecture:

Chair: Beverly Lapham (Queen's University)
Introduction of Douglas Purvis Memorial Lecture: Richard Harris (Simon Fraser University)

Announcement of Douglas Purvis Memorial Prize: Jen Baggs (University of Victoria)

Speaker: Nina Pavcnik (Dartmouth) International Trade, Firms, and Jobs: Perspectives from Emerging Economies

State of the Art Lectures


Susan Athey (Stanford GSB) Designing and Analyzing Experiments with Machine Learning
Chair: Joshua Gans (University of Toronto)


Chris Blattman (Chicago Harris) Why We Fight: The Roots of War and The Paths to Peace
Chair: Siwan Anderson (University of British Columbia)


Nicholas Bloom (Stanford University) Why Working from Home will Stick (with Jose Barrero and Steve Davis)
Chair: Rui Castro (McGill University)



Silvia Goncalves (McGill University) Impulse Response Analysis for Structural Dynamic Models with Nonlinear Regressors (with Ana Herrera, Lutz Kilian and Elena Pesavento)
Chair: Morten Nielsen (Queen's University)


Adriana Lleras-Muney (UCLA) Public Policy and Population Health
Chair: Philip Oreopoulos (University of Toronto)

Fiona M. Scott Morton (Yale University) Digital Platform Policy: Are antitrust and regulation complements?
Chair: Robert Clark (Queen's University)